Go to top of page

Jawun Program

The program provides opportunities for Executive Level employees to complete a secondment in Indigenous organisations in communities across Australia. The Australian Public Service has participated in the Jawun program since 2011. For more information, see the Jawun Indigenous APS Community Secondment Program page on the APSC website or visit www.jawun.org.au for further information on Jawun and their Indigenous partners. If you have any further queries regarding the program send an email to: Jawun@apsc.gov.au

The Indigenous Secondment Pilot

The Pilot provides an opportunity for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people employed in participating Australian Government agencies to undertake a secondment to another agency. The Pilot involves two industry streams: law enforcement/regulation; and science. It seeks to give Indigenous employees an opportunity to further develop their capabilities, and experience working in other agencies within their industry stream.

The Pilot is open to ongoing Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander employees from participating agencies at the APS5 to EL2 (or equivalent) classifications. For further information, click here to view the Pilot guidelines.

If you would like to know more about the Pilot, please contact the Indigenous Capability Team on 1300 656 009 or indigenous@apsc.gov.au.

The Pilot is administered by the APSC’s Indigenous Capability Team, in collaboration with the following Australian Government agencies:


  • Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC)
  • Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission (ACIC)
  • Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA)
  • Australian Securities and Investment Commission (ASIC)
  • Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre (AUSTRAC)
  • Commonwealth Ombudsman
  • Department of Defence.

To learn more about these Agencies, please click here.


  • Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency ARPANSA
  • Bureau of Meteorology BOM
  • Department of Defence Defence
  • Department of Industry Innovation and Science DIIS
  • Department of the Environment and Energy

To learn more about these Agencies, please click here.